ST. LOUIS CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY

Ranges of Punishment for Criminal Offenses

Felony and Misdemeanor Classifications

Depending on which criminal offense has been charged, the criminal charge will fall under one of the following classifications.  The range of punishment varies quite a bit depending on the severity of the offense.  In addition to these standard ranges of punishment, Missouri law also provides for “enhancement” of punishment in a number of different scenarios.  These typically involve instances where the defendant has previously been convicted or plead guilty to other crimes.

The classifications and ranges of punishment for felony charges in Missouri are as follows:

  • Class A Felony:  10 to 30 years, or life imprisonment
  • Class B Felony:  5 to 15 years
  • Class C Felony:  3 to 10 years, and / or $10,000 fine
  • Class D Felony:  Up to 7 years, and / or $10,000 fine
  • Class E Felony:  Up to 4 years, and / or $10,000 fine

The classifications and ranges of punishment for misdemeanor charges are as follows:

  • Class A Misdemeanor: Up to 1 year in jail, and / or $2,000 fine
  • Class B Misdemeanor:  Up to 6 months in jail, and / or $1,000 fine
  • Class C Misdemeanor:  Up to 15 days in jail, and / or $750 fine
  • Class D Misdemeanor:  Up to $500 fine

Schedule a free consultation

Tell us a little bit about your case