MINOR IN POSSESSION CHARGES (MIP)
Law enforcement officers in St. Louis are always on the lookout for underage drinking, issuing numerous citations for Minor in Possession (MIP) every month. These days, MIP citations will be issued not just for possessing alcohol – you can also receive a St. Louis Minor in Possession ticket for attempting to buy alcohol, being visibly intoxicated as a minor, or simply for drinking while underage (consuming alcohol as a minor).
WHAT IS MINOR IN POSSESSION?
Under Missouri law, you can be charged with Minor in Possession for any of the following situations:
- Purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol as a minor under 21 years of age.
- Minor in possession of alcoholic beverage (the most typical example of “minor in possession”). You can get a St. Louis Minor in Possession citation even if the alcoholic beverage is unopened.
- Minor visibly intoxicated (also known as MVI). You can get cited for MIP if the police officer has reason to believe that you are intoxicated, even if you aren’t in possession of an alcoholic beverage container.
- Minor with a blood alcohol content of more than two-hundredths of one percent or more by weight of alcohol (i.e., when a minor takes a breathalyzer test and blows over .02). This is a very, very small amount of alcohol – typically much less than what would be required to be intoxicated. For this reason, this type of MIP is sometimes known as Minor in Consumption.
WHAT ARE THE CONSEQUENCES OF A MINOR IN POSSESSION CITATION?
In Missouri, a first-time MIP is classified as a Class D Misdemeanor in the state courts. Additionally, if you plead guilty to or are convicted of MIP, your driver’s license may be suspended for 30 days on the first offense.
Multiple MIP charges on your record will result in harsher penalties as well. A second or subsequent Minor in Possession charge will be classified as a Class A Misdemeanor. This is the most severe level of misdemeanor offense, and carries up to one year in jail and $2000 in fines.
The penalties against your driver’s license will also increase with multiple Minor in Possession charges. A second MIP conviction will result in a 90 day suspension, and a third MIP conviction will result in a one year revocation of your driver’s license.
LET US HELP YOU AVOID A MINOR IN POSSESSION CONVICTION
If you have a Minor in Possession ticket and do not wish to take the conviction and lose your license, contact us today to speak to an experienced St. Louis Minor In Possession Lawyer. The Law Office of Shin Cho has handled numerous MIP tickets and helped our clients avoid MIP conviction, keep their license, and keep their record clean.
We are located just down the road from St. Louis County Municipal Court South Division off Lemay Ferry, and we handle MIP cases all over the St. Louis metropolitan area. We have an excellent record of successful representation and client satisfaction.
Call us today for a free consultation with a St. Louis Minor in Possession defense attorney! We can do free consultations over the phone or schedule a free in-person consultation – whichever is more convenient for you.